A first novel released into the big wide world….

ouroboros launch poster

My very first novel was released yesterday, Sunday 23 March 2014, at the Blurred Lines Independent Publishing Fair in Canberra. The Fair was quite low-key and we weren’t rushed with people clamouring to buy the book and acquire my autograph. However, it was a good way to dip my toe in the waters of “being an author”. While we were sitting, smiling benignly on passers-by and browsers, I managed to have a good chat with my publisher, Michelle, on the marketing plan and what happens next.

In a nutshell;

  • Book blog tour
  • Distribution to shops and online outlets
  • Author talks (she slipped that one in quickly and moved on just as fast – must have seen the whites of my eyes)
  • Festivals and fairs (there’s one coming up in Sydney that I hope to get a spot at so stay tuned for updates)
  • A launch event to invite family, friends, and other interested parties to

It is all very exciting and I’m looking forward to it all.

On the 3-hour journey home, when I wasn’t nodding off in the back seat, I reflected on what this occasion means to me. This novel was first born 15 years ago so, in a way, the last few weeks have been all about getting it ready to survive in the big wide  world outside my computer hard-drive. The last few days have focused on letting go. Over the next few months and years, this novel will be loved, knocked back, kicked around a bit, but it will come out on top. It will succeed because my goal with “The Ouroboros Key” was simply to get published. As a writer, I have a long term plan and the release of this novel is just the first achievement of, hopefully, many more to come.

The characters that I have lived with for so many years, through name changes and gender changes, and all their personality “baggage”, I now let go to find their own way in the world. I’m sure they’ll live long and interesting lives (well, most of them anyway).

I now have Romans and Gauls to wrestle into shape and a few Australians to gently guide into the world, and I can’t wait!

Here are a few photos from the day.

book display

signing my autograph for the first time book signing

4 thoughts on “A first novel released into the big wide world….

Leave a Reply

