Voyageurs: A Novel by Margaret Elphinstone

Voyageurs: A NovelVoyageurs: A Novel by Margaret Elphinstone

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ve just finished reading Voyageurs and was impressed from the start with the detail of the research that must have gone into this as well as the way that detail was shared with the reader. When next I go kayaking I will think of this story and the voyageurs paddling the rivers in Canada so long ago. A wonderful observation of their lives and the means and ways they lived them.

Most of all I made a strong connection with the main character and his life philosophy shaped as it is by the Society of Friends. Such a simple philosophy of truth and the light of truth, yet even this was shown to be complex and wrought with factions; a reflection of the times the people were living through and the situations they were trying to survive.

George Fox - founder of The Society of Friends

George Fox – founder of The Society of Friends

I thought the description of native life was interesting, thoughtful and not overdone with the whole “noble savage” treatment that still occasionally occurs in storytelling.

I would have liked to know more about Rachel but as the story is so much from Mark Greenhow’s point of view – what he knew we knew, and some things just can’t be shared, or understood, between a sister and brother or a man and woman.
I think I’ll keep this one on my bookshelf to read again.

View all my reviews

For more about Margaret Elphinstone, visit her website: http://www.margaretelphinstone.co.uk/ I’m looking forward to reading her most recent novel as well – The Gathering Night

An interesting article on The History & Origin of Quakers By Monika Smith, NSW RM

I’m adding Kyle of Lochalsh to my list of places to visit in Scotland.

Wikipedia has some information on the Odawa People. It never ceases to amaze me how much there is to learn about the people who went before (no matter which country). This seems to be a good stepping off point (lots of links) if you’d like to learn more about the people who lived in the regions we know as Canada and North America. You might also be interested in

A Tribal History Of The Little Traverse Bay Bands Of Odawa Indians

Leave a Reply

